NHS legally obliged to give you test strips?

BarryLey

Hi everyone. I am a type 1 who tries to do everything right. Good diet/excercise etc. I keep my levels around 4.2-5.8. But to do this I need to test around 7 times a day. This was no problem in Australia where I was diagnosed, but today my diabetes nurse told me I couldn't have that many strips. She says I only need to test once every 3 days. ONCE! If that was all I could test my levels would be all over the place and I would get very ill very quickly. Does anyone know if the NHS are obligated to give me the strips I need? I have a meeting with my GP tomorrow...

Froobes

That doesn't sound right at all! Perhaps they're thinking you're a Type 2? Although even then I would have thought a Type 2 would need to test more than once every 3 days!

BarryLey

That's what I thought. But how can a DB nurse not know the difference? Is there some sort of legal obligation? I mean can I demand them?

Froobes

I'm no expert don't get me wrong, I think Cugila would probably be the best person to ask as he seems to be pretty clued up but I would have thought you should be able to demand a certain amount. It does seem rather contrary of the NHS to refuse test strips, in order to avoid complications (which inevitably will cost more in the long run) we all need to have as tight control as possible. That can't happen without regular testing. I would definitely look in to it more. You're doing the right thing by getting an appointment with the GP, though.

BarryLey

Sure, in the long run I would cost less money. But right now (in this adminsitration's budget) it is slightly more expensive to give me the strips. I will only cost money when I get ill, in another adminstration's budget. So they don't care about what happens in 10 or 20 years really...

That's why I need to know if I can insist :?

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
BarryLey said: