NHS to Offer Closed Loop Pumps to 150,000 T1 Diabetics

UBFester

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
People.
Not posted here for an eternity but this has brought me back - does anyone have any real time experience of running the current 'option' and have any pictures of what the kit is / the size of it etc?

Fairygodmother

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bigotry, reliance on unsupported 'facts', unkindness, unfairness.
I was utterly miserable for about two hours after reading the announcement: I’ve been asking for a pump for the last ten years or more and refused each time.
I won’t be one of the 150,000. Too old. HbA1c under 7.5. Not pregnant. Only 103 hypos over 90 days. Highs rarely greater than 12.6 despite Libre 2’s unreliability once numbers pass 9
So after 54 years of the relentless 24/7 it’s just get on with it, more of the same.
I’m really glad, however, that the tech will be available to more people. I wish it were there for all, but what a relief for all who’ll be given it.

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
I was utterly miserable for about two hours after reading the announcement: I’ve been asking for a pump for the last ten years or more and refused each time.
I won’t be one of the 150,000. Too old. HbA1c under 7.5. Not pregnant. Only 103 hypos over 90 days. Highs rarely greater than 12.6 despite Libre 2’s unreliability once numbers pass 9
So after 54 years of the relentless 24/7 it’s just get on with it, more of the same.
I’m really glad, however, that the tech will be available to more people. I wish it were there for all, but what a relief for all who’ll be given it.
Please please please do not give up.