Nutritional advice

chester1964

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi all.
I'm trying to get a handle on which foods are bad and which are good for me, just found out on the forum that high fat is good, who'd have thought that !
Are dieticians worth seeing, my experience of them in hospital would suggest not, any other help or advice much appreciated.

Paul41

Hi,
Welcome to the group.

I thought I’d respond as I’m also pre diabetic and have been “dealing “ with this since August last year. I’m not an expert but I’ll gladly share my experience.

I decided to follow the low carb way of life. I immediately cut out potatoes, pasta, rice and all flour based foods. I even stopped drinking beer!

Next I followed the accepted method of finger prick testing . In this way I could nail down what I could or couldn’t eat. It didn’t take very long to achieve this and then my BG settled down nicely. Along the way I’m now 16 kgs lighter ( only about 4 kgs from a good BMI) and my a1C is now normal.

I hope this helps and good luck

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin

chester1964

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi,
Welcome to the group.

I thought I’d respond as I’m also pre diabetic and have been “dealing “ with this since August last year. I’m not an expert but I’ll gladly share my experience.

I decided to follow the low carb way of life. I immediately cut out potatoes, pasta, rice and all flour based foods. I even stopped drinking beer!

Next I followed the accepted method of finger prick testing . In this way I could nail down what I could or couldn’t eat. It didn’t take very long to achieve this and then my BG settled down nicely. Along the way I’m now 16 kgs lighter ( only about 4 kgs from a good BMI) and my a1C is now normal.

I hope this helps and good luck
Thanks for taking time to respond, I guess I need to cut out the obvious carbs and go from there. All the best

Helen H