Question for the low-carb bakers

Digger-i-doo

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I have a hankerin' for hot cross buns. I came across this recipe: http://www.ditchthecarbs.com/2015/03/16/low-carb-hot-cross-buns/

It looks good, but it reminds me a bit of this low-carb bun (well ... I guess the only similarity are the psyllium husks, but still), which I tried recently and really enjoyed: http://ketodietapp.com/Blog/post/2014/11/12/Ultimate-Keto-Buns

Since I already know and love the ultimate keto buns (liked the texture), I'm thinking of hot-cross-bunnifying it. I'm not that experienced a baker though, so I'm wondering if anyone has any feedback about the following possible modifications to the keto buns:

- Ditch the garlic powder and the onion powder
- Reduce salt to 1/2 tsp
- Add 1 tsp each of cinnamon and allspice, plus 1/2 (or maybe 1/4?) tsp ground cloves
- Instead of topping with seeds, do the erythritol paste thing described in the ditchthecarbs recipe
- Not sure about keeping in the flaxmeal. The keto author recommends not using it in sweet recipes and seems to suggest sesame seed flour instead, but I don't have that on hand and suspect a quest would be involved. I want hot cross buns, but not badly enough for it to involve a quest.

Also, raisins would be nice but they're awfully sweet. I've got some homemade dried cranberries though (tart ... only slightly sweetened with erythritol). Do you think it would be weird to throw in, say, a half cup of those? Or at this point should I really just face the fact that I'm not making hot cross buns anymore, but some weird Franken-Bun?

Reactions: 2 people

Scimama

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I'd use the basis of the keto buns if you like them, adding hot cross bun flavours, Mary Berry uses

2 tsp mixed spice powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 lemon, finely grated zest only
50g/1¾oz finely chopped mixed peel