Type 2 Sugar level results

AlbertoLaidlaw

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Carbohydrates
Help please I am new to taking my blood sugar levels and am getting some odd results or at least I think they are. My maximum has been 11 and my lowest 7. I have two questions please.

1. It seems to be at its highest first thing in the morning which I find odd and would have expected it to be at its lowest.
2. I restrict my carb intake to below 150 per day and since reducing the carbs my weight is going down which is positive. Calorie intake averages approx 1500 per day so portion sizes are not big. When can I expect to see my blood sugars come down.

Thanks

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
1. Your liver provides sugar if you don't eat for a while and for many people this is before breakfast.

2. The lower your carbohydrate intake the lower your sugars should be but it can take a few days of low carbs for best results. There seems to be a point where weight loss starts helping more than before so if you start out large the longer it might take. Your carb intake is not so very low though so you could try lowering it further.

TorqPenderloin

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Sounds like you have a plan in place which is the most important thing. That allows you make modifications to figure out what works best for you.

Restricting your carbs is something many of us do, but I wouldn't say 150g of carbs is "Low." That equates to 40% of your total daily calories and you may find that you need to reduce your intake (but not always)

My questions to you are:
-in the morning, how long does it take for your blood sugar to stabilize? Many of us experience dawn phenomenon, the term for morning elevated blood sugar levels.
-What kind of exercise are you doing? Many people find that makes a huge different in managing their levels
-Are you on medication yet, or strictly diet/exercise now?