Walnuts and T2

HpprKM

Dislikes
Self absorbed and rude people! Motorists who are oblivious to the rest of the world, and really don't give a ****!
I have been keeping up with the Low Carb thread over the past few weeks, but now want to address another dietary issue for T2 Diabetics. I have also been reading quite a lot from a Nutrional Health Source, and as always I keep an open mind on what they advise...knowing that there is always some truth and some myth. However, I have a question for fellow T2 'colleagues' (I use this term in preference to 'sufferers' which I feel has such a negative and depressing tone, although some may wish to challenge this statement as not facing reality!)

Nevertheless, since being diagnosed as T2 some 18 months ago I have come across information on benefits of certain foods, and some keep cropping up. One of these is that Walnuts are beneficial for T2 (maybe T1, I have little knowledge in that area and cannot really say), this is an article I found on the website I mentioned above:
The Diabetes article Diabetes Deadly Deception alludes to the fact that healthy oils consumption is the main part of an anti-diabetic strategy, and I found this information below about walnuts that confirms this:

The National Center of Excellence for Functional Foods and former Smart Foods Center Director Professor Linda Tapsell said the research had demonstrated how a diet including 8-10 walnuts a day delivered the right kinds of fats and fatty acids that might help the body address one of the problems associated with early stage Type 2 Diabetes - insulin resistance - which hinders the absorption of glucose from the bloodstream into human cells.