went swimming.

roxy44

In my quest for the body beautiful :wink:

i went wsimming today, 1st time in years!! infact i really forgot how to swim at 1st!!
but i really worked my body, no doubt it will tell me tomorrow :roll:
i had 1 slice of weight watchers bread with 1 triangle of low fat cheese on before i went, swam for an hour came back, got a shower etc tested my BS and it was 8!!
i'm new to this and wondered if the excercise would have lowered it?

then again my body might have gone into shock :lol:

going again on thursday if i can walk after today xx

Sid Bonkers

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Customer helplines that use recorded menus that promise to put me through to the right person but never do - and being ill. Oh, and did I mention customer helplines :)
Hi Roxy exercise will help to reduce your insulin resistance but not all exercise will lower your bg levels, gentle exercise like walking will almost always reduce my bg levels but strenuous muscle aching exercise (not that I do any :) ) will sometimes cause your liver to dump glucose for your overworked muscles to use which can raise your bg levels.

I have always been told that swimming is a great way to exercise but due to respiratory problems I tend to avoid damp wet places otherwise I would definitely go swimming as I love it.

roxy44

thanx for the reply sid,

well i ant been for that long i forgot how to swim, ...but i really need to get excercising, i have been a bit of a couch potatoe these past few years since i lost my mum,

but i am determined to sort myself out, it was nice cos its a private pool just round the corner, so we had it to ourselfs with my sister and her hubby , will start walking too x

Unicornz

That sounds great, I love swimming! Think I should probably go sometime as well but it always seems so busy at our pool :|

Don't forget that exercise could lower your blood glucose levels for up to 24 hours afterwards!

Gappy

Dislikes