Intermittent fasting: 14/10-16/8, 5:2, 24-hr fast, 20-hr fast

AloeSvea

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
I'm really sorry that my post has offended you, @AloeSvea as it was definitely not my intention to criticise you. I don't find fasting easy if it's anything other than an extended overnight - just the opposite in fact. Every time I try, I'm usually very stressed. Sorry if I expressed myself badly :(

Indy - I feel bad now too! :(. (I am not very good at strong suggestions contrary to what I want to do - it is my bad.) But I am really pleased if things are good between us now - I LOVE your posts! And you are fantastic about fasting.

zicksi101

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm getting in on the act with this Intermittent Fasting stuff.

Now I'm type 1 diabetic, and currently 14% body fat, so I am in reasonable shape. However it was a shock to learn recently that I have started to develop insulin resistance, or double diabetes, and my doctor suggested I go on Metformin to manage this.

Low carbing in the evening worked for me, for a while, but then my total daily dose started to creep up insidiously...

So, now I'm bringing out the big guns. A daily 12/12 intermittent fast. Only 4 days in but already my total daily dose has dropped by 6 units, and more importantly, 2 of those units have come off my night time Levemir, which my doctor said was the goal of the Metformin treatment anyway.

My basal dose is probably quite low for a type 1, but the profile of it is unusual: in the morning I only need 5u of levemir, but in the evening I'm taking 14u, and sometimes they are overlap to cause morning hypos unfortunately. I've got to a point where I can't just increase the dose any further, otherwise I'll hypo at 2am, so the only options are to limit insulin, or wake up in the middle of the night and take even more insulin - but the latter would only compound the problem.