Diabetes Type 1 and Diets/Healthy lifestyle

Georgia4

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone I am new to this page. I'm Georgia I have been diabetic since I was 8. Recently I have started to look after myself and go to the gym and take my carb counting more seriously as I am on injections and carb count. I am finding it SO difficult to give the correct insulin doses before and after workouts I find no matter what I do I'm either really high from over eating before/after a workout or I'm going low all day or evening both totally pointless when you are trying to loose weight but have to have sugar and carbs for your blood sugars. Does anyone have any tips and tricks for me? What kind of things do you guys have before the gym (healthy snacks to keep sugars stable) or after the gym. Also I hate bananas and I know how good these are for balancing sugars and keeping them stable Also does anyone exercise on an empty stomach without injecting?? Helpppp

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi @Georgia4 :)

Carb counting is absolutely crucial to good control so you've made a great start :)

I recommend the book Think Like A Pancreas because that's what we have to do.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I start exercise slightly higher than normal and then top up with glucose tablets as necessary.

Do you always go to the gym at the same time?

Reactions: GrantGam

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @Georgia4

I'm another diagnosed @ 8.

What insulin are you on..?

Don't worry about bananas.. Though I used to love em, they didn't do me any favours...

Welcome to the forum by the way!

Reactions: GrantGam

GrantGam

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello @Georgia4, welcome to the forum:)

Balancing your blood sugars both during and after exercise is notoriously difficult! So don't be too hard on yourself, it's far from easy.