Diagnosed 2 weeks ago (type 1)

harshasp

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello
This is the first time I am posting here. I am 21 year old engineering student who was diagnosed as type 1 diabetes 2 weeks ago. I was DKA by the time I reached the hospital. I am now on multiple injection therapy (3 rapid acting (Humalog) before meals, and one long acting (Lantus) before bed). I was already underweight (50 Kg with 170cm height) and the onset of diabetes made me lose about 9 KGs and made me dangerously underweight. I feel fine after insulin therapy and am gaining weight (about 45 KGs now).

I take 12U of lantus every night, 12U of Humalog in the morning and afternoon, and 11U of Humalog at night. I am still learning how to control my BGs. I am currently on CGM that my doctor put (Freestlye Libre. Works for 14 days and only they can extract its measurements during hospital visits). I asked the clinic if they could give me the data but they refused to do so and only gave me the graphs. Also, they gave me no way to know the CGM reading without visiting the hospital (Librelink is not available in India). So I found another way (Glimp) to extract data from the sensor and I am using it daily to track my BGs. My blood sugars averaged at around 205 mg/dL for the first few days. It significantly improved and my average today is 121 mg/dL with the highest reading today being 161 mg/dL. It is sad that after the 14 day period, I cannot afford a CGM and have to go back to testing with strips. The convenience and data given by CGM is unparalleled and I will miss it. I have been taking a walk after every meal (about 12000 steps per day).