Question about protein and blood sugar

AllieRainbow

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I am new to this, and very recently diagnosed.

I have just started to monitor my blood sugars and I have a bigger difference between pre and post food readings for my evening meal than my "break fast" meal.

Could the timing be a factor?

Other information:
I am eating a LCHF diet.
I tend to exercise more in the morning before my first meal.
I do some exercise after each meal - more after the first meal than the second.
The first meal of the two meals a day I eat is after a 16+ hour fast.
There are a lot more grammes of protein in the evening meals and these do seem to correlate with the readings on the BG monitor.

Has anyone got any ideas about what is happening here? Here are my figures for the last two days.

06/05/2018
9.53am - 7.3 (fasting reading)
11.33am - 7.3 (before food)
1.48pm - 6.7 (after food)
Difference - -0.6
4.40pm - 6.8 (before food)
6.43pm - 9.7 (after food)
Difference - 2.9
07/05/2018
6.02am - 8.6 (fasting reading)
12.08pm - 6.5 (before food)
2.10pm - 8.0 (after food)
Difference - 1.5
6.24pm - 6.7 (before food)
8.25pm - 9.4 (after food)
Difference - 2.7

I know you need to look at things over time, but this has got me puzzled.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Can you tell us what you had at your evening meals please to help us help you? Gluconeogenesis (production of glucose from protein) as far as I know takes much longer than from carbs.

AllieRainbow

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
06/04/18
First meal:
Carbs - 22.1g
Protein - 49.7g
Evening meal:
Carbs - 34.4g
Protein - 82.9g
07/04/18
First meal:
Carbs - 24.8g
Protein - 65.9g
Evening meal:
Carbs - 18.9g
Protein - 81.2g

Carbs all from unprocessed sources ie veggies and dairy.

Reactions: Freema

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only