Once A Diabetic Always A Diabetic?

Ojustaboo

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm a little confused (as usual)

Desmond course said once a diabetic, always a diabetic.

I've read that you can reverse your diabetes which is what I'm trying to do. But I've also read about people saying you can cure diabetes by reversing it.

I don't know what I'm talking about as I'm new to all this, but reading through this forum and elsewhere, I would say once a diabetic, always a diabetic.

Or to put it another way, if I stay on the LCHF diet (I hope I do) and get my diabetes in reversal, and get it far lower than say the average non diabetic, and I get invited to say a wedding.

And at that wedding I cave in and have a night off. Drink a few beers, have a few slices of cake, buffet in the evening, have a few sarnies etc , correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't I be straight back to diabetic levels?

I then read Pipp's 42 days to reverse diabetes levels and that sort of confirms it to me.

A bit like a reformed alcoholic?

Am I right (I'm not usually :) )

Reactions: Freema

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Yup! You’ve got it! I don’t believe I’ll ever be able to go back to my previous diet despite having a non diabetic HbA1c since last September. I don’t actually want to go back to my previous way of eating, it made me feel stodgy and lethargic :( I have remission on my avatar as that’s the description available here that’s nearest to how I feel and as I say in my signature the definition of remission is “A the temporary diminution of the severity of disease or pain”. I actually prefer the description ‘very well controlled’ which is how my GP describes me too.

Mr_Pot

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only