What was your fasting blood glucose? (with some chat)

Trayo

I'm new to all this. After finding exceptionally high glucose levels in a urine test, I was asked to monitor my bloods for a month before returning to the GP.

This morning's fasting level was 18.7 - which is average for me but scary compared to yours!

In 3 weeks I've not been below 12.1 at any time, and have reached 25.6. I don't eat sugary things anyway, and have changed my diet completely wrt carbs, types of fat etc, but it doesn't make a difference.

I sleep at every opportunity as I'm overwhelmingly exhausted, and have frequent headaches. I drink a lot, I pee a lot.

I have a neuro disorder, which started 16 years ago, and I had been blaming that.

The GP seems to think my medication may have damaged my pancreas.

Seeing your levels has left me a wee bit scared now!

Reactions: Aginoth

UserABC2021

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I'm new to all this. After finding exceptionally high glucose levels in a urine test, I was asked to monitor my bloods for a month before returning to the GP.

This morning's fasting level was 18.7 - which is average for me but scary compared to yours!

In 3 weeks I've not been below 12.1 at any time, and have reached 25.6. I don't eat sugary things anyway, and have changed my diet completely wrt carbs, types of fat etc, but it doesn't make a difference.

I sleep at every opportunity as I'm overwhelmingly exhausted, and have frequent headaches. I drink a lot, I pee a lot.

I have a neuro disorder, which started 16 years ago, and I had been blaming that.

I'm not a healthcare professional, so anything I say is just my thoughts.

Yes, your numbers are high but take a moment and just breath.

I was that high when diagnosed and managed to get it under control through my diet. It is frightening, was for me, but you are in the right place for good information. There is a lot of knowledge on this forum, just relax and find what suits you.