Van Driver Meals

Seales18

I am a van driver for my job and I really struggle with food during the day I always turn to sandwiches etc.

Does anyone have any other suggestions or meal ideas that include rice meat and veg I'm rubbish with meals.

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
How about a packed lunch of cooked chicken thighs or wings, or cooked, decent quality, high meat, sausages, cheese, olives, hard boiled eggs. A flask of soup. A flask of casserole or such like. Pork scratchings, cooked bacon (most supermarkets do that now, although M&S is the clear winner for me).

For things like the chicken thighs, they can be wrapped in foil, and partly unwrapped to be eaten, caveman styleeeeee, so no need for plates, or the upturned lid of a lunchbox can act as a picnic plate.

Reactions: Seales18 and lessci

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I am a van driver for my job and I really struggle with food during the day I always turn to sandwiches etc.

Does anyone have any other suggestions or meal ideas that include rice meat and veg I'm rubbish with meals.
First question: Why rice? It raises bloodsugars something awful, same as bread, spuds, pasta etc... You could easily get a burger without the bun someplace, just add extra bacon/lettuce/tomato or other veggies. I think there's some low carb wraps out there in the world, or you could do cheese/meat roll-ups, or use omelettes as a wrap. Eggs are excellent, boiled ones are easy to bring along. Salad in tupperware maybe? (Tuna, chicken, salmon or goat cheese based, with lettuce and whatever you like... Olives, mayo, vinaigrette, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, capers, bacon, parmezan....? just make sure there's something fat and protein rich in there so you feel full!).

And whenever I'm in a pinch, there's always a sausage somewhere to pick up. :)

Listlad

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only