Is this normal

UsmanMo96

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi all,

Since I got myself a libre I have had better understanding how my blood sugar are during the day. Instead of testing 3x a day it gives me the choice to scan whenever I want.

So, I have been scanning.
  • Before breakfast
  • 30 minute after
  • 1 hour after
  • 2 hour after
I have had a really big spike at 1 hour 14mmol/l after 2 hours its down to 10mmol and at 3 hours its back down to around where I was before my breakfast. Is this normal? I know that the blood sugar is suppose to spike after a meal but at 1 hour it was at 14 then 2 hours at 10mmol I'm wondering what would be a safe 1 hour level, I know at 2 hours its suppose to come down. I'm still learning. I really want better 1 hour levels. My 2-3 hour number are OK. I'm worried about the 1 hour level.

VashtiB

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi UsmanMo,

It is normal for your blood sugar levels to rise after a meal. What are your levels before eating? What did you have for breakfast?

There is a lot to take in but with regular testing you will get there- it can sometime take a few days or longer being low carb for your overall levels to come down. The fasting one (before breakfast) is often the last one to come down- google dawn phenomena . This means for me that breakfast should be the lowest carb meal of the day- I stick to coffee with cream. I find I don't handle carbs as well in the morning as later in the day- if you also start with a higher reading then the levels will be higher.

You are doing great to be testing g so regularly- this is information about your body. After a few days you will start seeing patterns which will help you make good decisions about what your body can tolerate.

You have made a great start!

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes