Feeling lost and scared

How long did it take you to adjust after diagnosis?

• 0-6 months

Votes: 6 60.0%
  • 6 months - 1 year

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Over a year

Votes: 4 40.0%

• Total voters

MissZButler

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
When my blood sugars don't behave!
Hi all,
Its my first time posting in here - and probably the first time I'm being completely honest with myself about my feelings about my new diagnosis. I'm 24 years old.
At the beginning of February, I went on a skiing holiday to Bulgaria with my sister - and 2 days in began to feel lethargic, nauseous (vomiting when I ate), weight loss and excessively thirsty. I put this all down to me having never coped with altitude sickness - however I quickly became very unwell and ended up on the intensive care unit with DKA and a diagnosis of Type 1 diabetes. None of the care team spoke English so the language barrier made the diagnosis very difficult to understand and it was the most scary time of my life. I was told I was very lucky to be alive.

I have since been able to come back to the UK on Novarapid for meals and Lantus at nighttime. I have been referred to the local diabetes team and have been checked up on by my GP surgery.

In all honesty I'm really struggling to come to terms with it all - before my diagnosis I was always so busy and active - but at the moment it feels as though my world has come to a sudden stop. What's worse is that family members are avoiding me - I think because they too are struggling to come to terms with it - which has left me feeling very lonely whilst trying to process everything.

I wanted to ask everyone's advice about how you dealt with the diagnosis and what helped you get back to your normal lives afterwards. I'm finding at the moment even the slightest changes sent my blood sugars so erratic. I know I will need to take one step at a time - its just difficult to not get disheartened.
Thank you for your time

Reactions: Barb McD

Jaylee