Choosehappy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Hypos!
Hi all

I have been injecting for around a month now and I just can’t seem to not nip myself a little and draw a tiny bit of blood, then I end up with a tiny little red mark for a while. I mean it’s useful because I know where I have previously injected. But it would be nice to have a clear stomach again! This issue does not tend to happen at any other injection sites only my stomach. It is also important to note that it doesn’t continue to bleed, it is almost like I am just nicking myself with the needle on the way in rather than it just being a nice clean injection and I am doing it almost on every occasion.

I use 4mm needles. Does anyone else tend to nick themselves with the needle? Is this common or do I need to tell my nurse and seek some advice. I just feel I’m not very good at injecting and keep marking myself. If this is common then that’s fine, but if no one else experiences this and there is a way I can improve my technique it would be nice to know!

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. I quite often draw a bit of blood in both stomach and thigh. It's quite normal as you never know when you are going to 'nick' a vein when going in.

Circuspony

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm covered in little bruises around my stomach. I have to do the most blubbery bit I can but I still catch little blood vessels.

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
@Choosehappy do you pinch your flesh when you inject?
It used to be the advice and then, as the needles got smaller, the advice went out of fashion.
However, some of us found that it is still useful to pinch to avoid things like bruises.
Could be worthwhile trying if you don't already.

Choosehappy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Hypos!
@Choosehappy do you pinch your flesh when you inject?