Dexcom or libre

Bw2534

So I’m waiting on the free libre trial but wondering if it’s worth paying £160 for the dexcom trial for a month?

I will probably have to self fund so I’m aware financially the libre is better but I’m interested to hear your opinions.

Thanks

boggle

Type of diabetes
MODY
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Carbohydrates
I have only used the Libre, my daughter (7 months old) is using the dexcom. I would say it is not worth the extra money. Might be tempted to say the libre is better. Neither are without flaws.

Reactions: Bw2534 and EllieM

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I have been using Libre with xDrip for a few years.
With xDrip, I get readings automatically on my phone (no need to scan) and calibrated which gives me confidence.

This year, I trialed Dexcom. Many people find it more accurate. I was disappointed to find this was not the case for me. The Dexcom app is very basic and only supported on a small number of phones. And the applicator is bigger than the Libre one so Dexcom has a lot more plastic waste. So, I stuck with Libre.

I am only a sample of one and, as I say, most people prefer Dexcom.

Reactions: Bw2534

ert

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
diabetes
fasting
I prefer Decom as I find it much more accurate. And I use xDrip. I recommend the trial.

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

I'll give you my experience using Libre 2 with the Diabox app. (Making sure it's calibrated within 0.6mmol of my meter.) It pretty good at predicting any lows around 10/5 minutes before I feel them. With alarms. Thus taking the sting out of the low by pre-empting with a nominal amount of carbs?
There can be a delayed register of recovery from the low with the sensor. I normally feel normal first before my meter suggests I am. The sensor can reflect the recovery after another 20mins or so?