Are certain fish species unsafe to eat

lindisfel

Expert
Studies into temperate populations of Orcas (killer whales) show they are facing extinction.
This because they are top of the food chain and the seas are still very contaminated by polychlorinated biphenyls- a toxic man made oil that gets into fat tissue.

Two prey species are particularly affected. Tuna that man and Orcas eat and the seal population around Scotland and north of England.
PCB gets into body fat and stops reproduction. Because Orcas have c.40% fat milk the little Orcas have being getting a load of it for years.

Seals, further down the food chain are not affected so much as they were in the Baltic.

Unfortunately Icelandic Orcas that were safe are coming south to eat seals and are therefore building up PCBs in there fat tissue. The seal population in the UK has rocketed since they stopped controlling them.

I was exposed to PCB's when I was a transmitter engineer and we didn't know how toxic they were and the large components that had them were eventually removed when we found out.

However burning PCB's at lower temperatures produces dioxins which are extremely toxic, if you remember Bhopal?

I wouldnt subject your Tuna to any heat! :)

This gives me reservation about my consumption of fresh Mackerel.
Derek

Last edited:

Alexandra100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
This gives me reservation about my consumption of fresh Mackerel.
Me too, but mackerel tinned in virgin olive oil from Tesco is both cheap and delicious (and of course convenient), so I have been suppressing my misgivings. It is labelled as "Scottish" which suggests to me that customers don't want to eat mackerel caught in the English Channel or the Irish Sea. But then mackerel are mobile.

Alexandra100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)