Best Home Monitor Kit

G10166

Hello, I am new to this (not diabetic) but my dad has T2DM (and his dad had it too), so I think there is a hereditary link. For the last 6 months or so, I have been having episodes very similar to the symptoms of a mild hypo. Is there a reliable home monitor kit I can use to monitor my blood glucose over time, please?

On a side note, I had one of those DNA tests done (it was a gift) and they found I was at higher risk of developing T2DM, insulin resistance and higher levels of circulating branched-chain amino acids (BCAA).
I've been resistance training for about 3 years and recently started taking BCAA after training - these are insulinogenic and decrease insulin sensitivity - am I doing more harm than good?
I am also worried about the amount of food I do eat for my height and weight (in order to build muscle) may be detrimental to my insulin sensitivity - although the resistance training itself will be preventative.

Thank you!!

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Welcome to the forum.

I use the Tee2. @Rachox has some good info.

We normally tell newbies that a meter is essential. Most of us follow a low carb way of eating.

Rokaab

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
For the last 6 months or so, I have been having episodes very similar to the symptoms of a mild hypo
Do note that hypos are not symptoms of undiagnosed diabetes, if diabetics have hypos its due to the medication not the diabetes itself.

G10166

Welcome to the forum.

I use the Tee2. @Rachox has some good info.

We normally tell newbies that a meter is essential. Most of us follow a low carb way of eating.

Ah thank you, will check it out! I don't have diabetes, but all my carb consumption is low GI (I have around 40% of total calories from carbs)

G10166

Do note that hypos are not symptoms of undiagnosed diabetes, if diabetics have hypos its due to the medication not the diabetes itself.