confused about milk carbs

Drfarxan

I am new to the "macro nutrient in food" business but when i read the labels it usually says carbs in 100ml of milk is 4.5g!! How come when milk is lactose which is glucose? So i assume its all water then a little percent of milk is lactose. Or are the 4.5 grams only sugar but the lactose is not calculated?!!

How much does milk effect your blood sugar? i avoided it for 9 months so i wouldn't know

Do any of you use milk in anyway, drinking or in your tea? and you are in a "ketogenic diet"? 1 cup of milk is 12g of carbs barely above 20g. Or do you completely avoid milk

I also found pausteurized milk with high fat and only 3 g of carbs in 100ml thats 8g of carbs in one cup. Any of you ever found the same product and are using it in keto?

I use to use milk in my coffee and tea. But know i use a heavy cream, zero card almond milk and butter in my tea(took a break from coffee) but after finding the pausteurized milk i am thinking of adding 200 ml to my tea for flavour.

LaoDan

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
The term “new normal “
I used to drink gallons of milk, since the lifestyle changes, I just use a bit in my coffee. Low carb almond or coconut in my new milk

Oldvatr

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
As you point out, lactose is a carbohydrate, being a form of glucose. So it has carbs. Remember that one ml of water weighs 1gm, so 100 ml of milk is as near as dammit to 100g. I tend to work on carbs per 100 g which is the same as the percentage value.