Cycling-When to test blood sugar?

djsb

I'm going for a ride on my bike in the morning (first time after being diagnosed last Wednesday). I'm not new to cycling, but I am new to cycling and measuring my levels.
Is it best to cycle before I eat anything and then have my breakfast after my ride. Or is it best to have breakfast first? And when do I do a test? I'm currently (well, since Wednesday) testing before a meal and then 2 hours after the first bite. If I was cycling to work, I would eat my breakfast first (I sometimes take a folding bike onto a bus as it's more flexible). Any tips? Thanks.

PS Currently on 2 x 500mg of metformin and 1 x 40mg of Atorvastatin per day. Readings around 15 mmol/L at the moment. Diagnosed with type 2. Doctor says cycling OK. Weight 66Kg.

Last edited:

Trevor vP

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Normally you want to have some breakfast in you before you exercise. Also you do not say what type of medicine you on. Normally the doctor wants to see your Blood Glucose before meal and 2 hr later to see if the medicine is doing what it should. And if you are on medicine that can give you a hypo you want to make sure your Blood Glucose is at a safe level before getting on the bike

ert

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
diabetes
fasting
What type of diabetes do you have? What medication are you on? I'm a type 1 on insulin and I always exercise before breakfast and without eating.

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
@djsb one thing you will see again and again that we are all different.
You don’t mention what type of diabetes you have and that will make a significant difference.
For example, if you have Type 1, it is NOT advisable to exercise close to dosing insulin as exercise makes the body more efficient at using insulin so you risk going hypo.