Dawn Phenomenon

DawnPhenomenon

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Other
Okay - so is there anyone out there who has beaten this thing? I mean, it's great that your bod gets you ready for the day but it's playing havoc with me. It goes from the early 5s at 7 - 7.30 to the early 8s by 8 a.m. What can I do?

Indy51

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
It takes time. For me it took more than 3 years and only fully resolved afer following a regime of intermittent fasting for 3 months. Most people find it resolves eventually - but the timing varies for the individual.

carty

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I have been chasing this thing for 6 years and have tried everything in the known universe but still get 10 s in a morning down to 6 ish in the afternoon !!!!
CAROL

britishpub

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
My way of looking at it, is that a finger prick test is just one split second in time, and if my other tests during the day are fine then it doesn't really have any affect on the grand picture.

Of course if this level is causing you headaches or tiredness or other issues then it is something to look into.

DawnPhenomenon

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Other
It takes time. For me it took more than 3 years and only fully resolved afer following a regime of intermittent fasting for 3 months. Most people find it resolves eventually - but the timing varies for the individual.

My goodness - three years!! Does this mean that the dawn phenomenon is common to pre/diabetics and is a caused by the disease?

DawnPhenomenon

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Other
I have been chasing this thing for 6 years and have tried everything in the known universe but still get 10 s in a morning down to 6 ish in the afternoon !!!!
CAROL

Hi Carol - it is very frustrating. Have you tried late night snacking? I've found that a late night snack can bring it down. I'm around 4.7 in the afternoons.

ButtterflyLady