Finding a doctor to get safely into low carb WOE

Ketorose21

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello, I’m in Dundee and looking for A low carb or Keto GP to help a “new to Low carb” friend who is on a lot of medication. She has diabetes T2. I’m Asking for this friend because she does not use online resources yet. She is inspired by me because I have reversed pre diabetes using diet and lifestyle.
I can offer dietary pointers but I’m not a doctor. Thanks for any information in advance.

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello, I’m in Dundee and looking for A low carb or Keto GP to help a “new to Low carb” friend who is on a lot of medication. She has diabetes T2. I’m Asking for this friend because she does not use online resources yet. She is inspired by me because I have reversed pre diabetes using diet and lifestyle.
I can offer dietary pointers but I’m not a doctor. Thanks for any information in advance.

Not sure how up to date the map is but...

https://phcuk.org/map/

Reactions: Ketorose21

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
If you can't find a doctor locally you might use your online skills to locate a copy of Dr Atkins New Diet Revolution for your friend - I like the 2003 edition, but they all have good information. They used to be available for very little money some years ago.
It is not as though eating low carb is, of itself, dangerous - a list of low carb options and a blood glucose meter should suffice for most people once the concept is grasped....
Low carbing can mean that medication needs to be reduced - tablets for high blood pressure is a common one, but a visit to the prescribing surgery should sort that out. Worth it just to see the expression on the testers face. Even more amusing when they go out and get another meter because theirs is showing normal so it must be faulty.

Last edited:

Bittern

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)