Got my second results back...diagnosed Type 2

Starshine

So here I am...I promised i would share my results when they available. I’ve been skulking around the forums here for two weeks

I had a second round of bloods last week after my initial HbA1c (I was told I needed two test to diagnose). My first result was 57 and the one last week was 59. I only spoke to a receptionist, and she informed me there weren’t any appointments in the near future with the Diabetic nurse!! There is no way they are telling me over the phone and then not giving me an appointment. I will ring for a GP appointment on Friday morning.

I’m feeling strange about it all (I am a registered nurse and have been for 31 years) maybe I know too much and that’s what’s making me feel down. I feel as though I should have known better. I guess I feel guilty and ashamed.

I feel as though I should have seen it coming with my family history of both type 1 and type 2 diabetes.
But it is what it is....on a positive note the receptionist said....your renal function tests are normal. So something to be happy about.

I need a radical overhaul, I’ve been reading all about low carb eating here, but I wonder if anyone has any experience of using fluid replacement to get some weight off quickly? I’ve 4 stone to lose

At least all the waiting is now over, would appreciate any help and advice

Thank you so much for reading my post xx

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Starshine, sorry to hear of your diagnosis but rest assured we can help you while you wait for your surgery to get their act together for you. I retired from nursing 9 months before my diagnosis, I was shocked at how little I really knew about diabetes. You’ll learn all you need to here, but memories of very poorly controlled diabetes patients with all their complications helps keep me determined not to go down that route too.