Hidden Side of Type 1 Diabetes

Zee101

Hellooo guys, this is my first time using this website so hopefully I'm able to make friends here as I currently have not met any other type 1 diabetics.

I wanted to ask/talk about something unusual that has been occuring to me over the past year but more so in the past few months. Does anyone else have an issue where they dont wake up but they are able to hear those around you?? Like not sleep paralysis but you just know you're unconscious basically. It has really frustrated and concerned me and i dont know if its uncommon because i know i know you usually feel week when having a hypo but no one has ever spoken about this.

Please share your thoughts!! Im 17 and have been a diabetic since i was 9.

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
Hmm, that's a bit weird. Try doing a blood test when you finally wake to see if you've been hypo - I've had some very strange vivid dreams in that situation.

I've certainly had dreams where I've been convinced that certain strange things have happened, and once awake have had to spend some time working out logically why such a thing hadn't happened.

Welcome to the forums. Plenty of T1s (and others) willing to talk about anything and everything and generally give support about all things diabetic (and non diabetic).

But as regards your original question, do you think you could just be having a vivid dream? If not, and it's worrying you, you could mention it to your doctor.

Rokaab

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I know I've had some very weird dreams/thoughts/almost hallucinations that seem real when hypo, could it be something like that?
Do note though that hypo symptoms can be very unique to a person, and for a person can differ between times as well.

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump