1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2020 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Hidden Side of Type 1 Diabetes

Discussion in 'Type 1 Diabetes' started by Zee101, Jan 24, 2020.

1. Zee101

Zee101 · Newbie

Hellooo guys, this is my first time using this website so hopefully I'm able to make friends here as I currently have not met any other type 1 diabetics.

I wanted to ask/talk about something unusual that has been occuring to me over the past year but more so in the past few months. Does anyone else have an issue where they dont wake up but they are able to hear those around you?? Like not sleep paralysis but you just know you're unconscious basically. It has really frustrated and concerned me and i dont know if its uncommon because i know i know you usually feel week when having a hypo but no one has ever spoken about this.

Please share your thoughts!! Im 17 and have been a diabetic since i was 9.

• Friendly Friendly x 2
  2. EllieM

EllieM Type 1 · Well-Known Member

Hmm, that's a bit weird. Try doing a blood test when you finally wake to see if you've been hypo - I've had some very strange vivid dreams in that situation.

I've certainly had dreams where I've been convinced that certain strange things have happened, and once awake have had to spend some time working out logically why such a thing hadn't happened.

Welcome to the forums. Plenty of T1s (and others) willing to talk about anything and everything and generally give support about all things diabetic (and non diabetic).