Type 1 Insulin Fiasp

Martaps

Morning everyone, just wondering if anyone is using this new insulin called Fiasp? My doctor is planing to change my insulin and as I’ve been using Humalog for years I would like to know if people are using it and are happy with it?
Thanks a lot

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I have been using Fiasp for a couple of years with my insulin pump.

It has its quirks but now I understand them, I am happy with it.
- It does not last as long out of the fridge as other insulins. It seems to be ok for a couple of weeks but if you are on a small dose, this could be a problem.
- The speed at which is starts working for me, seems to be dependent on my current levels. If my blood sugars are in the 4s and 5s, it starts almost instantly. If my levels are in double figures, it can take an hour to see any movement. This means I need to consider my levels when deciding when to pre-bolus.
- Some people find that it stings when injected. Thankfully, I do not experience this.

Overall, it is faster and better than NovoRapid which I was on and Humalog which I tried for about a week.

Reactions: Martaps

Rokaab

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I've been using Fiasp for the past 3-4 years , first with pens and now with a pump (for about a year), I found it much faster than the Novorapid (which tended to take its fine old stinking time to kick in) I previously had so found it worked much better for me

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
I love my Fiasp, makes my life much easier.
On Novorapid I had to pre-bolus by 30-45 minutes to try to prevent spikes, on Fiasp I can usually just inject and eat, although I tend to wait a bit if I'm on the high side.
Corrections work quicker as well, so I'm less inclined to stack insulin.
And I'm able to see if I gauged my dose correctly sooner, so again less risk of overcorrecting.

StewM

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin