Emerlou

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
This is my first time posting so go easy on me guys ! I've hovered around the fringes since being diagnosed almost 18 months ago, reading the brilliantly helpful suggestions and some amazing success stories but never felt a strong enough urge to post anything until today. You all - with your amazingly eloquent and well-researched advice - spurred me to go against my GP and the NHS dietician's advice and try the LCHF approach. I'd tried low-carbing (on a milder scale) when first diagnosed, with some success but following an appointment with the dietician at our local Diabetes clinic I became brainwashed with her advocating the 'balanced plate' method - carbs with every meal and and low fat choices with everything.

This did not work. I gained the weight I had lost and then some, my blood sugars peaked out, I felt ill, sluggish, unmotivated and I was probably in denial about it all. Until earlier this year - my blood tests showed some liver inflammation and a subsequent scan because of family history diagnosed a fatty liver. I couldn't ignore it any longer, I've got two young boys and I want to be around to see them grow into young men, so I had to do something.