new type 1 diabetic

chase623

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello, this is my first time posting! I was diagnosed with type one diabetes in October 2016. I am male, 20 years old 5'8 155lbs, before I was diagnosed I was feeling very sick, my symptoms were dry mouth, extreme thirst, no energy, blurred vision and I lost 30 pounds when they weighed me at 120 in the hospital. I spent 4 days in the hospital over thanksgiving weekend here in Canada. I now take novarapid before i eat and lantus at night before bed. I was very concerned when i was first diagnosed that it would be too much work but i got used to using the insulin pens 4 times a day. It felt amazing when I first got on iv for insulin, I felt it through my entire body. and since i've been taking insulin i feel better and more healthy than i did before i had type one, now i carb count and eat healthier. everything happens for a reason i suppose and i'm staying positive about this whole thing.

I'm looking for other fellow diabetics to meet and talk to, I live in Ontario Canada and would love to make some new friends here :)

Last edited:

db89

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @chase623 and welcome - yes it's a big learning curve and there will always be plenty to learn about your diabetes as you go along. It does feel a bit like coming out of a fog when you first get the insulin you need. Ask any questions if you have any they're a friendly bunch here.

How are you getting on a few months down the line from diagnosis?

chase623

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @chase623 and welcome - yes it's a big learning curve and there will always be plenty to learn about your diabetes as you go along. It does feel a bit like coming out of a fog when you first get the insulin you need. Ask any questions if you have any they're a friendly bunch here.

How are you getting on a few months down the line from diagnosis?