Newly Diagnosed

Ben1984

Hi all I’m new to all this was diagnosed with diabetes 3 weeks ago by my doctor ringing to say I Have Diabetes as my blood test reading was 51 he hasn’t asked to see me or anything so just left hanging been getting headaches and eyes ache lately not sure if to do with diabetes had an eye test at weekend and they said eyes were all ok anyone have any ideas ? Also where’s the best site to look up what foods to eat ? Also how would I know if type 1 or2 sorry for the long no post but haven’t got a clue

Many thanks

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Ben and welcome! That’s shocking that you’ve just been left, have you no instruction at all to return for review, further blood tests or a check up with the practice nurse? If not maybe you should make a GP appt, a different GP perhaps? Most Drs won’t diagnose on one blood test, so you should be having a second one really.
In the meantime have a read of @daisy1 ’s info post which she will post on this thread now I’ve tagged her.
Headaches can be a symptom of high blood sugar which if you haven’t modified your diet yet, you’ll no doubt be suffering from. Many of us Type 2s here reduce our blood sugars by reducing carbohydrate intake.

Ben1984

Hi rachox thanks for the reply I had one previous test by another doctor which came back 48 they said that’s pre diabetes all I got was a call to say yes 51 so have diabetes and to have another test in 3 months

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi rachox thanks for the reply I had one previous test by another doctor which came back 48 they said that’s pre diabetes all I got was a call to say yes 51 so have diabetes and to have another test in 3 months