• Accu-Check Insight

Votes: 2 28.6%

• Total voters

GinaPrice

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and am hoping you can help!

Having suffered from lots of Hypos and 3 comas I have been considering changing to a pump for 6 months. Today my nurse told me that I meet the criteria and just need to give the go ahead to move forward. There are 3 pumps available in my area and I would appreciate anyone completing my little poll and giving any other feedback.

Thanks in advance :)

D

Deleted Account

I have no experience of the pumps you have on offer so cannot respond to your survey.

But, as a pumper for the last 18 months (on an Animas Vibe), I can comment on the title of your thread: pumping can definitely reduce the number of hypos. However, it does not do this for free:
- to start with you may go throughs some ups and downs as your settings are sorted out. The pump has far more configuration points as it allows you to set different basal for different times of the day and getting these right requires (educated) trial and error.
- there is more of a risk of high BG if your canula and "set" is not correct. This scared me the first time it happened but I have become more alert to a problem.
- the pump does not give you less hypos for nothing: you hav eto carb count more accurately and may find the need to "tweak" your basal due to exercise, stress, etc.

Would I go back to MDI? If I had a choice (which, in theory, I do) I would stick with the pump.
If I was told I MUST go back to MDI, I would be more upset by the cost cuts (why else would I need to change) than the medical impact.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @GinaPrice i don't really see how doing a poll on what pumps people use will help you choose a pump for you. You are the key factor in choosing a pump for you.

The most important factor for you in pumping appears to be reducing hypos.