CosmicOwl

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone,

I’m a type 1 diabetic currently in recovery from an eating disorder, alongside this I would restrict my insulin to prevent weight gain, I’m now doing my insulin and physically feel a little better, but I am really struggling with the weight I put on, especially as it’s been so fast and drastic (gained 3 stone in the past 4 months). My overall A1c, whilst not perfect, has dropped significantly though.

It has made me classified as obese, when I am so careful about what I do eat (low GI, not many carbs, correct portion sizes and honestly I struggle to eat 3 meals a day due to my adhd medication causing a reduced appetite).

I have an active job (constantly moving as I’m a designer maker who works in metal) and do a lot of hiking and other exercise…so I am struggling to understand why I put so much on.

I have asked my diabetes team but never really get an answer. I want to be a healthy weight so we can start trying for a baby soon, but it feels like no matter what I’m doing my weight keeps going up! It’s a struggle with my eating disorder as it tells me to just stop taking the insulin altogether again so I can fit in my clothes of course I know the risks and don’t want to lose my recovery progress, so that’s why I’m posting here incase anyone has gone through similar in regards to such rapid weight gain that doesn’t make sense!

I am seeing my nutritionist soon, but they often just advise that I eat more meals as I’m constantly in a large deficit (I already feel so full) and do even more exercise, which I have been doing but it hasn’t even slowed the gain!