What is Normal blood sugar levels for non-diabetic whilst drinking?

asker14284

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Yesterday me and all my friends tested our blood sugar levels using my friends ( a type 1 diabetics) machine and mine came back as 12 whereas my other two friends was 7 - 8 is.
I was just wondering what is normal for a non-diabetic levels to be after drinking ciders and cocktails all day. I hadn't really eaten much at this point of the day. However it had been less than two hours since I had my last drink.
Please can anybody help as I am not very worried about my sugar levels? And does anyone have a way I can test my levels at home

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I'm no expert as I was only diagnosed Type 2 two months ago. Your random test is difficult to interpret, but it is higher than your friends' so if they were doing comparable things you could assume yours is too high. You could either buy a meter, freely available on Amazon, you could ask for a test at a pharmacy, I think Lloyds do them or you could get an appt with your GP.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
A random blood sugar of 12 is a little high. WHO guidelines on diagnostic criteria for diabetes say a randome blood sugar of > 11.1 is a cause for further tests to rule out diabetes. It is probably worth a visit to your GP to get checked out and have a hba1c test to rule out diabetes.

It may just have been an anomalous test, not clean hands etc. But worth getting checked.

You can test your levels at home with a blood sugar monitor. But there doesn't seem a lot of point in doing that if you're just going to test and worry about the numbers without a diagnosis. So first step would be get to your GP to see whether you need to be worrying about blood sugar levels.