Why Is My First Test of The Day So High

KevinPotts

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Unkind people, failure to take personal responsibility.
I was diagnosed yesterday and so signed up to the site immediately, being a little overwhelmed.

Could any body help me whats happening with the following:

I have just woken up and my before breakfast test was: 8.7 (after 8 hours of sleep)

My results yesterday were:

First ever test by nurse which was +2 hours after breakfast 10.6 (breakfast was 50/50 oats and bran with skimmed milk in a normal sized bowl) - that scared me!

So before dinner it was 7.1 (dinner was grilled chicken breast, loads of veg and a few new potatoes, and small bowl of raspberries nude)

+ 2 hours after dinner (9.15pm) sugars were 8.7

So I am sure you can guess what my question is, why wouldn't my sugar levels drop during the fast of the nights sleep?

I know I am a completely newbie, but I was just shocked 15 mins ago by the absence of any drop over night.

I am just about to have breakkie again, same thing slightly smaller amount, but expecting the number to be over 9 in 2 hours, which I simply have to avoid.

Nurse has started me off on no medication as I am lean, do 4 hours in the gym, but have had too many carbs so diet has changed instantly.

Thanks so much to you all, for what seems like a very warm, supportive and friendly community.

Kevin

Reactions: 2 people

Mike d

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
idiots who will not learn
Called the dawn phenomenon ... essentially dumping of glucose in prep for day ahead. Do a forum search or google it and if you hit troubles, ask more.

They are hard to control initially, but you'll be fine. Welcome aboard. This is familiar territory for all of us :)

@Administrator .... can we please do something about this query as it happens every day of the week or script something so we can cut and paste to newbies?

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes