Your thoughts would be appreciated

Neilysqueely

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I’m a newbie, I was diagnosed the prediabeties (score of 48) 2 years ago. Without waffling I’ve a few other issues, high blood pressure, obstructive sleep apnea and yes you’ve guessed it I’m overweight. I’ve dabbled with diets and fitness regimes but never stuck to anything for very long. I’m 50 this year so thought I needed to get my act together. I started weight watchers with my wife In January and have lost just over a stone, happy days I thought but that’s all one crashing down around me as I’ve just had another set of blood tests done as I’m trying to get life insurance sorted and they insisted on fresh results. My score is now up to 58 and I’ve had to start taking metaformin. I feel totally devastated as with the weight coming off I was hoping to see some improvement in my score. So my question is as follows.. is weight watches the answer for me? and if it is where am I going wrong?? All replies will be very much appreciated

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello, and welcome! Congratulations on your weight loss :) . Diabetes is all about managing the carbs you eat, I'll tag @daisy1 for you, she will post a very useful information pack on this thread. Read it through and then come back with questions. No need to panic, there are lots of people on this forum who managed to get much higher hba1c's back in range by changing the way they eat, I hope you will be the next one. Good luck!

smw99

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only