Hi everybody, another newbie here . . .

CliveUK

Hello everybody . . . I’ve just signed up and this is my very first post.

A little about me as an introduction; I am a 62 year old retired chap who until very recently thought he was really healthy. I went along to my GP and had a health check which I passed with flying colours but subject to the blood test results coming back. The blood test results were not quite what I expected and really shocked me, I was told I was prediabetic and had slightly high cholesterol.

My results were: hba1c 42 and Cholesterol 5.8

I know these results are not terrible but it still came as a bit of a shock. I am spot on the correct weight for my height, I run three times a week (I average about 10 miles a week), I walk another couple of miles on the days I don’t run and also do some weight lifting. Diet wise I am not perfect but then again not terrible either.

I am currently waiting to go back to the surgery to discuss the cholesterol and sign up for the diabetes prevention program. In the meantime I have just ordered a home blood test meter so I can track my progress, that's about where I am at the moment.

Its a bit mind boggling really, one day OK (or a least I thought I was!) then the next day not . . . anyway that’s a bit about me :happy:

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi CliveUK,
I’m sorry that this unexpected diagnosis has bought you here. However here is an excellent place to be for all people with some form of diabetes.
Here’s a link to our useful info post:
https://www.diabetes.co.uk/forum/threads/basic-information-for-newly-diagnosed-diabetics.17088/
Your HbA1c is just into the prediabetic range so with a few adjustments to your diet you can get that back into the non diabetic range. Aside from cutting out obvious sugar, you'll need to look at your carbohydrate intake, all carbs white or brown turn to sugar once eaten.