Type 1'stars R Us

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
@porl, the thread has always deviated but usually along the way, there have been a goodly proportion of posts, even jokingly talking about blood glucose, insulin dosing and so on, and for that I, personally, have been very grateful. I have learned a huge amount on this thread, however, the last few days the focus on here hasn't been Diabetes. It's been very good indeed. Nobody is denying that, and it would be disingenuous and untrue, if I did.

All I ask is that we all try to get back to the purpose of this forum, and this thread, which is supporting our fellow travellers living with diabetes, with a view to improving health outcomes.

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
You could make a fortune off this if you can get it working! Brilliant idea!

Gee, thanks! :)

Oddly, I've had some experience fitting aftermarket car alarms.
All it would need is a relay to interupt the ignition to the starter motor. If the below 5mmol values were sent to a receiver that controls this via Bluetooth in close proximity or on entrance to the vehicle? The engine wouldn't start, thus removing the "intention to drive" whilst low..?
The same if the driver was going low & pulled over. The vehicle couldn't be started again till the CGM told the device the driver was above the 5 to drive threshold?

Somthing like Xdrip can already talk to a smart watch. Why not something controlling a signal to the starter?
This could (in theory.) be fitted in addition to an existing OEM or after market ant-theft immobiliser...

Reactions: chris85 type 1

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Antje, I will be honest, I don't like to report any post unless it is obviously offensive and I think it's sometimes a subjective thing as well which makes it harder