What was your fasting blood glucose? (full on chat)

gennepher

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
@gennepher - loved yesterday's pastel with that wonderful light path across the sea, even more so today's :joyful: Thank you, I also enjoyed looking up the work of John Blockley and that of (I believe), his daughter Ann, both use edges and colour in a way I wish I could emulate (I'm not very good at positive/negative space yet and I'm quite tentative with colour). John Blockley seems to reveal the 'hard' bones of the landscape and Ann the 'soft' cover.

Art catch up - as I did before, to try to broaden my practice skills I've made some 'emulative' paintings, copying artists I admire as a learning tool, so there are a couple of these below.
no 1 - this is a shot at a painting by Charles Ash an American painter, he is able to convey so much with his use of colour and white space.
upload_2020-6-2_17-53-21-jpeg.41822

no 2 - this is inspired by a Dutch artist called Frieda Rouffa, I'm not too impressed by the top of my sky but I'm quite happy with how the water turned out :)
upload_2020-6-2_18-3-7-jpeg.41824

Thank you @geefull
It is always interesting to see other artists work. John Blockley satisfied my needs for awhile in the 1990's. There are bits of his paintings I like now which is solitary cottages and the colours he uses. I need to look a little more into Ann Blockley.

I looked up both your artists you were using for inspiration. I liked Charles Ash, but there is no way I could leave that white space in a watercolour painting. For some reason it doesn't appeal to me. However you have made nice use of that white space in your top painting.