Corona virus

LucySW

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. I'm not quite sure what you're referring to in regards to my post, as I was simply pointing out that according to him (and his friends) 'some supermarkets refused to deliver to self-isolaters'.

Oh. I wasn’t referring to what you said at all. That seemed very clear, tho I hope it will change.

I meant, oh dear we can only take this as one Type 1’s virus diary to a certain extent - because he only describes the first week, & we don’t know how he’s doing now.

TerriH

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Noise, hooligan drivers and most of all rude, selfish and totally inconsiderate people.
Yes, we are all extremely concerned, especially as things like my Annual Review and Retinopathy appointments have been just cancelled "until further notice". I do understand why but it certainly increases the feeling of isolation. The only thing we can do is self manage as I have been doing for almost 55 years now. Stay strong fellow sufferers Que sera sera!!! My HaB1c by the way is 48 mmols!!

CliveT1

Ok, let me try and do some maths (that’s a big ask for my old small brain by the way!)..

Firstly, looks at these stats

upload_2020-3-19_13-37-13.jpeg

So, take the 50-59 group...

• Symptomatic cases requiring hospital treatment 10.2%
  • Those of that 10.2% who require critical care 12.2%
  • Dying 0.6%

These are only based on cases admitted to hospital and they will only usually be tested at that stage...There will be many more thousands of cases with just mild symptoms who have not been tested or hospitalised. So, I’d suggest the real % of all CV cases ending up hospitalised, critical or dying is much much lower.

So let’s say as a metric that these numbers are based on 1000, that’s 6 people dying.