ianf0ster

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
exercise, phone calls
What really matters is : Are you smarter (or just better informed) than your doctor?

Dr Paul Mason's video covers all the major Low Carb and Keto related myths -
T2D, CVD, Bone Density, Cancer, Dementia, Obesity, Insulin, inflammation Fructose, Carbs, Seed Oils, Omega 6 Oils, Salt, HDL, LDL, Statins and more:

lucylocket61

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
In one or two specific areas I am better informed than my doctor. In general - probably not.

Reactions: Rokaab

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I am an expert in me. He or she seems to be an expert in diagnosis leading to pharmaceutical prescriptions.
I have also had more nutritional training than the average medic! (more than 4 hours so it is a low bar)

Reactions: VashtiB

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
The clue is in the title. General.

I am well informed and research in detail the specific conditions applicable to me. In those specific conditions I am sometimes (often) better informed on that specific issue but not necessarily on possible connections to other conditions, current guidelines on testing/treatment allowed within the nhs.

On more than one occasion I’ve solved my medical dilemmas when a significant number of gp’s have failed or misdiagnosed. It takes some convincing sometimes for them to actually listen to their patient about what’s happening and what’s not. Some are open to doing so. Too many are not and prefer to leap to their own conclusions and then seek to confirm them/avoid contradictory evidence.

I’m most unlikely to be better informed on issues that haven’t touched my life or have the breadth of knowledge or much of the experience of a gp.

Reactions: Rustytypin

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes