A

Avocado Sevenfold

Good idea. It would be an easy meal to turn into a vegan one.

I think I might be eating a lot of beansprouts from now on in lieu of noodles.

Reactions: 3 people
A

Avocado Sevenfold

That's a great recipe, Claire. I have a stockpile of tinned beans - cannellini, kidney, chickpeas and also dried green lentils. I am a total noob and am a bit scared of using them now. Was heartened to see you using them so will give them a go (sparingly)

Claire87

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
Brain tumours
That's a great recipe, Claire. I have a stockpile of tinned beans - cannellini, kidney, chickpeas and also dried green lentils. I am a total noob and am a bit scared of using them now. Was heartened to see you using them so will give them a go (sparingly)

Thanks. I hope you like the enchiladas :D. I was the same. I used to make chilli all the time before my diet (I love Mexican food), but then I was wary of the carbs when I started, so I skipped the chilli. It turned out that it was the beans I used. Kidney beans are pretty high carb, so those ones you want to use really sparingly. But Haricot beans are really low carb with all that fibre in them, so they're a great filler bean. Canelloni beans seem to be on the high side (use sparingly), but the three bean salad from Tesco is low carb mix that is high in fibre overall. (I haven't worked out which bean was the lowest carb in that tin. I only found it yesterday). But I was so happy when I found some beans I could use. You can bulk out the recipe with beans like haricots and use ones like kidney beans sparingly for variety. I bet there are hundreds of great recipes that can be made from them. :)

Reactions: 2 people
A

Avocado Sevenfold

I will be sure to pick up some haricot beans next time. Thanks!

I made a lovely dinner last night. This was my main course...

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2056/cheesy-autumn-mushrooms