3 months on from diagnosis of type 2

SimonJ 2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
On the 6th of January 2018 I was diagnosed as type 2 diabetic. My HbA1c was 60. In the last 12 weeks I have been on a low calorie/carb diet. My 29th of March blood test showed my HbA1c was 38. Am I still diabetic? I'm new to this. Not sure what to think.

rom35

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
First of all - congratulation to this excellent result. 38 in 12 weeks is magic. Second: I'm afraid, that diabetes cannot be cured at this time. In case you change your diet regime and leave the LC, you'll return to bad state. Keep the regime, and you can live as non-diabetes (except of food). Diabetes is the for live partner and you cannot leave her out of the doors.

Reactions: eggs11

archersuz

Type of diabetes
Type 2
@SimonJ 2 Very well done on that result. 38 is a non-diabetic result but there has been much debate as to whether this means you are reversed or well controlled. Many of us prefer to say well controlled as if we were to eat a high carb meal it would spike us!
Welcome to the forum and I'll tag @daisy1 who will be along to give you some useful information.

Reactions: Joe Public

NewTD2

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Congratulations on achieving an HBA1c of 38 which is considered "normal" blood glucose level.

WELL DONE!!!

However, once you've been diagnosed diabetic, you're diabetic for life.

So stay in control, never slip, look after yourself daily, to keep diabetes at bay.

Reactions: Joe Public

Ragmar

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Unfortunately once you befriended the beetus he'll be with you through thick or thin, sometimes he can be nice and other times down right mean but in the end he's a reminder to stay healthy.

Congrats on the drop! Welcome to the forum.

Reactions: Alison Campbell

SimonJ 2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)