Dominic71

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Diabetes
Hi all,
I am considering trying the 8 week blood sugar diet of 800cals per day, might change it a little and do between 800 and 1000cals within an 8 hour window. So fasting for 16 hours. Proper meal at lunch and then a huel black edition shake in the evening for dinner.
Has anyone tried this diet and what are your thoughts? Have people been as successful as the book suggests in putting this into remission?

Tannith

BANNED
I have been doing something like this for over 4 months now and lost just under a stone. My FBGs are mid normal (down from high normal to low pre diabetic), but my 2hour OGT (done at home after 75 g glucose & water drink) is still in the middle of the pre diabetic range. Still that is better than when I started when it was at the lower end of the diabetic range. I think the OGT is the only really important one as it measures on a standardised internationally recognised scale how far along the diabetic continuum you are between low normal and diabetic.

Reactions: Dominic71

Mbaker

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Available fast foods in Supermarkets
Hi @Dominic71 many have completed Blood Sugar Diet. I believe it is possible to get the desired top line results of diabetes remission, weight loss (I prefer exclusively fat loss).

For a male, up to 1000 calories will not be sustainable long term, so what comes next will need planning for.

zeeeee

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
This is the diet i did which then turned into LCHF/Keto its good for losing weight but you need a maintenance plan for when it ends because its certainly not sustainable.

I didn’t follow the recipes and looking back it was more of a keto diet but it put me on the right path, while I was educating myself.

I put my diabetes in remission after 3 months

I would stay away from the shakes they really aren’t needed.