Freestyle Libre Mental Health

SWWCHRIS

I have been using Freestyle Libre sensors for around 2 years. I have always struggled with information overload and the sensors cause loads if anxiety.

I recently took the decision myself to revert to blood testing and its been a life changing move.

I am no longer constantly anxious

My readings are pretty constant

I am now sleeping through the night after months of sleepless nights

Its truly feels amazing to be released from the 24/7 stress of having the sensor attached.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation?

How did your medical team react to you coming off libre?

Thanks

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

In contrast. I found the Libre made my work life less hassle. (I am still fully hypo awair.) But to pre-empt & treat lows at a glance. Was a boom. (& I come from the days of peeing in a tube or on a stick?)

I just turn the alarms off at night. Apart from the one that wakes me for work, of course..

Reactions: chrisbug

SWWCHRIS

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

In contrast. I found the Libre made my work life less hassle. (I am still fully hypo awair.) But to pre-empt & treat lows at a glance. Was a boom. (& I come from the days of peeing in a tube or on a stick?)

I just turn the alarms off at night. Apart from the one that wakes me for work, of course..

Thanks. I to have come from the urine test days. I absolutely get the benefits of libre but unfortunately it has been causing me massive amounts of anxiety and data overload. This often results in over correction in either direction, also the sensors always seem to read lower (checked when flat lining). My control was always good before libre, and in fact there has been a slight deterioration over the two libre years. I guess I may come bacj to it, but currently just plan to use Libre for holidays/times when I have a higher need for 24/7 monitoring.