1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2019 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Mum in law - border line

Discussion in 'Newly Diagnosed' started by Robo42, Sep 9, 2019.

1. Robo42

Robo42 Type 2 · Well-Known Member

Appears my mother in law has been told she is border line diabetic, not helping she has already had bad advice by members of the family. We live some distance away & I have been managing my type 2 for over 10 years, diet has been important and has kept me off tablets most of the time. Anyway it would be good to have any advice & suggestions on best way to start, she does not always take advice unless its independent or from doctors so hard to get across over the phone even if I have much experience. Already she is putting homey on everything, toast for breakfast and eats lots of fruit, things I never do. Problem is we don't think a tester is possible to use as she has problem with skin healing. Appreciate views on ways to get on track.

2. xfieldok

xfieldok Type 2 · Well-Known Member

Does she hav access to the internet. If so, point her at this forum and tell her to read it.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. Juicyj

Juicyj Type 1 · Moderator
    Staff Member