The Yogurt Effect (on me)

Beachbag

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Filling in forms! ;)
I usually have a fried breakfast of bacon and mushrooms plus one small slice of Burgen Soya and Linseed, or Livlife bread. Apart from my BG dropping to 3 if I do more than about a 4mile walk, I'm fine. This morning I decided to have yogurt. 100g of Greek yogurt, 25g of blueberries, a few walnut halves plus a level tsp of linseed totalled about the same carbs as my fried brekkie and made a delicious change, great.....BUT, a good walk and a little over two hours later I felt lousy. On checking my BG I found to my dismay, it was 10.6! Please does anyone have any idea as to why my body has done this and apart from giving up yogurt, what can I do? (BG came down to 6.4 after six hours)

Joe Sweatthang

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Not Paragliding
Hi Beachbag. I'm only new to all this but the range 3-10.6 is quite big. I guess you took multiple BG readings to double check ? Certainly interested in seeing what answers you get on this post.

Reactions: 2 people

Beachbag

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Filling in forms! ;)
Try similar tomorrow no walk see how it is at 2hrs
:) If I have yogurt for breakfast again tomorrow and don't walk, a) my BG will surely go even higher and b) my BTerrier will be jumping the fence, lol.

mo1905

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Rude people !
I wouldn't take too much notice off a rogue one-off reading Beachbag. Sometimes diabetes just doesn't play fair and throws a curve ball just to keep you on your toes. If it happens again, investigate further but if you're usually stable, I wouldn't let it worry you.
Mo

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Reactions: 3 people

Beachbag

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Filling in forms! ;)