Oh help... jus starting out ...

PamJHS

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi I’m a newbie to both this forum and diabetes and I’m not sure I’m in the right place.. I was just diagnosed as type 2 in feb 19 and was given medication, Gliclazide, told to take it twice a day but wasn’t given any dietary advice , I was given a meter so I could continue to drive, but told only to test before I drove. Totally overwhelmed I came home and hit the internet for as much info as I could find, but there is so much and it’s all different, I decided after much reading to try the LCHF and it brought my BGLs down from 23.5 to roughly 5.5 - 7.9 over course of 3 weeks and I also managed to lose weight, I was really pleased, felt I was managing it well then found out that I shouldn’t be doing this due to type of medication I’m on.. now I don’t know what to do, haven’t had any hypos but BGL has been very low at points.. neither am I sure if it’s too early to go back to GP and ask them to reduce meds as I’m not due to see them again until April.. any suggestions as to what I might be doing wrong or how I can adjust my diet again to get best of both worlds ie lose weight and keep BGL low.. sorry if this isn’t the right place to be asking this but getting frustrated and confused.

I’m a newbie to diabetes T2 and the forums as well, but just from a common sense point of view, it seems unwise to start messing about with your dosage without medical advice. I’m in my first week of LCHF, I hope I get results like yours from it!

KK123

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Generally speaking, insulin resistant diabetics shouldn’t need to eat in order to prevent hypoglycaemia. If this is happening then medications need reducing (with professional medical support). If this doesn’t work then the patient needs to be referred to an endocrinologist.

I'd go one step further Jim and say NO diabetic should have to. x

KK123

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin