philly1991

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I've always struggled with accepting my condition ever since I was diagnosed and I've had some awful experiences with my medical team which have furthered these negativities. I thought I had conquered this in achieving a Hba1c of 44 but went off the rails again and my Hba1c is back up at 103.
My latest medical team have been really good and have seen me fortnightly to provide me the support I need to continue taking my insulin and discuss my negative feelings to try and overcome this and get back to where I was. However I realise that it is not realistic to see them ever two weeks in the long run. I have been put forward for DAFNE but this isn't until December so any support I can get would be greatly received.
Is there anybody else out there who lacks motivation, even with something so important? Or has anybody experienced it themselves before but overcome it?
Hope everyone is well!

Reactions: porl69

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hello @philly1991 and welcome to the forum :)

A good starting point would be to do the Bertie course, free and online: https://www.bertieonline.org.uk/

A good book to buy is 'Think like a pancreas' written by a type 1.

One thing i've learned is that running high blood glucose levels practically fuels low mood, so too much glucose in your system slows down your thinking and makes you sluggish, hence why keeping good levels is good for body and mind, whenever i've swung high/low it's compounded my emotions, so keeping stable levels is really important, in regards to testing have you been offered the libre for testing ? It takes the pain out of testing and it's easy to spot patterns with your control, it's not as accurate as a blood glucose meter but used correctly and it's incredibly useful.