What have you eaten today? (Low carb forum)

maglil55

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Do you think it’d work ok as a flour substitute in coatings? I’ve never used it before and don’t know if it’d give the same crispy result
I don't see it being a problem. It wouldn't work if you needed a "rise" in it (at least not without additions) but as a coating it's fine. I use it mainly to coat meats/fish before egg dipping then coating in LC mix. It makes it stick better.

Reactions: DJC3

maglil55

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Thanks @shelley262 and good to see you! I have oat fibre ( 0.3G carbs/100g from buywholefoodsonline.co.uk ) I was just wondering if I could substitute it for wheat flour in my ‘KFC’ chicken coating recipe. What do you think?
What else is in the coating?

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Everyone here eats such small portions and have such great portion control. How do you guys do it please?
Ignore my posts in this thread to start with, I usually only share my main meal and not what I eat over the rest of the day.

Have you had a go at calculating the calories in your food?
What you describe as a daily intake looks like it is rather low in protein and fats, so you might be on a low calorie diet by accident, leaving you hungry.

Reactions: maglil55

Ronancastled

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Breakfast Sandwich & Coffee 35gs of Carbs
Cashews & 7-Up Free 20gs pf carbs
85% Lindt Chocolate & Coffee 15gs of Carbs
Ham, carrots, sweetcorn, baby potatoes, garlic butter 50gs of carbs
1 can of Guinness, 2 Glasses of red wine 18gs of carbs
All good

maglil55

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Saturday bed 6.8 FBG 6.7

B. TAG and 2 slices of SLC toast with coronation chicken. To my horror I've just taken my last SLC loaf from the freezer so got a hurried order placed.
L. Nothing- out for shopping