Type 1 A Little Health Advice?

Kyle77

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi guys, I'm very new to this and currently feeling very under the weather so apologies if this is on another thread.

I'm a 25-year old, Type 1 diabetic on insulin injections. I've always been in good health since my diagnosis although, I have had a high number of illnesses and infections this year.

I'm just looking for some advice. Last night, around 3:30am, I was woken with incredibly severe abdominal pain. I'd definitely say pain over cramps, I have a high pain threshold and it had me close to tears it was so painful. No matter what I did, or what position I tried to get in, the pain merely intensified. I couldn't stand and even in the fetal position, the pain was severe. It went on for around 2-3 hours with very occasional minor breaks before flaring up to severe again. My girlfriend was going to call an ambulance it was that bad however, as silly as it sounds, I've been admitted to hospital numerous times already this year and spent hours and hours waiting around, feeling awful, to have no real solution given to me. This made me very, very reluctant for a trip to hospital in the early hours. I just prayed and prayed it would pass. It's worth noting I did have a horrible fever at the time too. I was sweating out on the bathroom floor, feeling like I'd pass out, but cold as ice to touch.

Around 6:30-7am, it calmed enough that I managed to sleep for an hour or two. Upon waking the pain has massively subsided. I feel sick today and my abdomen feels quite tight, with sharp pains coming for short, random intervals. I feel fairly light headed all day too, drained, nauseous and light headed..

I know the ideal thing is to go get checked out at A&E but as mentioned, my experiences this year with A&E have made me hugely reluctant to spend all afternoon & evening there, to potentially get no answers, especially as the severity of the pain has subsided currently.